Domination

Hi all just to start by saying I'm brand new to this so I could be very much wrong. So the few occasions me and my wife have gone to the nudist beach and since joining this site naturism seems to be very male orientated. So the few times we've been to the local naturist beach although there's women there id say it's a ratio of about 20:1 in terms of men and women and joining this site there seems to be a handful of women compared to 1000s of guys, why is that. Is it that women are alot more reserved than men in the way they go about it or is there just alot less women who enjoy the lifestyle.

This topic was edited
RE:Domination

This is a perennial subject in the nudist community and while I don't believe any study has been done on a large scale, I believe some have looked at this as part of their psychology studies. From what I understand of this is that its largely social conditioning in the first instance that leads to this male domination of the community.

The piece that I would add though is that here in Australia there is an increasing trend for women to feel unsafe even in a clothed environment. And that's not without good reason when you look at the data on gendered violence and sexual assault.

So no doubt being nude, when we feel the most vulnerable (but also the most free or unconstrained) is a state that many women actively avoid. My wife tells me specifically that this is her issue and that she would be far more comfortable where the males do not out number the females so significantly.

This post was edited

It seems strange to me that at least in the US, women are much more likely than men to wear extremely minimal attire, but far less likely to be completely nude.

This post was edited